Fitzroy-ACU Women

Fitzroy-ACU Women

Inaugural VAFA Women's competition teams 
The Fitzroy-ACU Women 1 and Women 2 teams will compete in the inaugural season of the Victorian Amateur Football Association's Women's competition in 2017.

Coached by Mick Symons, Fitzroy-ACU Women 1 is competing in the Premier division of the competition.

The Women 2 team is coached by Jo Hogan (Fitzoy's first female coach) and their division will be determined by a round robin competition in the first three weeks of the season before the final 2017 season draw is finalised.

Read more about the Roy Girls getting ready for their assault on the VAFA women's competition.

Training: during the season the women's teams will train Wednesday nights at Ramsden Street Oval, Clifton Hill. Training will commence at 6.20pm.

Anyone interested in playing for the Fitzroy-ACU women’s teams please contact club secretary Sharon Torney on 0415 420 487 or Please note we have had to stop taking registrations for 2017 with over 70 players already registered.

In 2015 the Fitzroy Football Club (incorporating the Fitzroy Reds) formed a three-year partnership with the Australian Catholic University (ACU) to enter a team in the Victorian Women’s Football League, Division 4. The team was promoted to Division 3 in 2016 and went on to compete in the grand final.

Thanks to increasing local demand, a second Fitzroy-ACU women's team started at the club in time for the 2016 season playing in East-West Division. 

When the first Fitzroy women's team was established, Fitzroy FC President, Joan Eddy said, “This is a fantastic opportunity and exciting time for our club that has such a rich and varied history having played in the VFA, VFL, AFL, VAFA and now the VWFL, the premier women’s league in the country.  We are also excited about the partnership with ACU and the opportunity for the female students to be able to continue to play football.

John Marshall was appointed inaugural coach of the senior team and led them again in 2016. Jo Hogan was appointed as Fitzroy's first ever female coach, leading the Fitzroy-ACU Women's 2 team from 2016.

2017 Fitzroy-ACU Women’s squad


Fitzroy-ACU Inaugural Women’s team

In 2015 the Inaugural Fitzroy-ACU Women’s team contested Division 4 of the Victorian Women’s Football League.

Alexa Madden (Captain)
Sarah Lynas
Christina Atkinson
Lauren Atkinson
Tara DeGraft-Hayford
Gemma Minuz
Remy Coleman
Hannah Coffey
Maggie Gilder
Bianca Maes
Angela Richards
Tess Young
Sonia Bayley
Laura Royce
Alice Batterton
Bonnie Johnson
Elizabeth Olney
Lucinda Murphy
Hillary Grubb
Helen Dickinson
Indiana Benjamin
Alice Mackinnon
Matilda Heming
Michelle Booth
Molly Eastman
Elizabeth Derrick
Janie Gibson
Larissa Sahyoune
Claudia Bell
Grace Wilkinson
Frankie Freeman
Janine O’Flynn  
Bethany Rennes
Amelia Crook
Claire Forbes
Georgina Steggall
Colleen Fyffe

The Players

No items found.
Become a Member

Support your local Fitzroy Footy Club with a membership.

Buy Membership
Become a Sponsor

We have a range of sponsorship options available.

Sponsor FFC
The Fitzroy Shop

Get your hands on some great Fitzroy Merchandise

Shop Now