Fitzroy Football Club: Great football, Great community, Great culture.

2016 team leaders announced


Fitzroy-ACU leadership group
Congratulations to Alexa Madden, who has been named Fitzroy-ACU womens team captain for the second year in a row. Congratulations also to vice captain Tilly Heming and Sarah Lynas, Bianca Maes, Gemma Minuz, Luci Murphy and Tilly Arthur, who make up the leadership team.

The leadership group was named during the week, having been voted in by their team mates.

The leaders were selected based on the team values outlined last week in the Red Roy and coaches John Marshall and Jo Hogan have some pretty clear philosophies and expectations for the squad.

John says he and Jo want the team to work together as one squad. We expect that any player playing in Womens 2 will be working to earn a place in the Womens 1 team. This means we will be constantly working to help everyone in the Roygirls Squad improve throughout the season./p>

John, who coached the womens team last year, said there will be a big focus on providing good clear feedback to help all team members improve. For us it is about building a great culture, teaching players about the game we all love, and above all growing good people./p>

Round one of the VWFL kicks off on Sunday and the womens team will be missing its captain with a broken arm. It has been an injury-riddled pre-season for the womens squad but they are still expected to field full sides in both grades.

Senior squad leaders
Not to be outdone, the Fitzroy Senior squad leadership team has also been announced. As expected, Rory Angiolella and Dan Bisetto retain the co-captaincy role. They are joined by vice captains Corbin Stevic and Dom Pound-Palmieri, along with Tom Cheshire and Sam Baker.

Drew Olarenshaw has been named the new captain of the Reserves team, taking over from Jack Beech and Sam Buckley who have been co-captains for the past couple of seasons. Dave Lee and Richard Willingham are the vice captains.




Get our Newsletter

Are you a Member?