Fitzroy Football Club: Great football, Great community, Great culture.

Ellis and Gogerly take top honours at Redlow 2018


Fitzroy swingman Max Ellis has gone back-to-back in the Fitzroy senior mens best and fairest, taking out the 2018 Greg Roughsedge Perpetual Trophy in a premiership year.

Meanwhile, Erin Gogerly topped off an outstanding season, in which she finished top 10 in the VAFA Premier Womens best and fairest, winning the Fitzroy-ACU best player award; the Elaine Findlay Perpetual Trophy.

Max, who was selected from Premier C for the VAFA Big V side this year, added to his outstanding backline play when he was moved forward to great effect on a number of occasions throughout the season, including for the grand final. In presenting the award, Senior Coach Luke Mahoney commented on the fact that before this season, Max had kicked only one goal in his 150+ games. He finished the season with 12 helping set up many more and is sure to get more opportunities in the forward half next year.

Regardless of which end of the ground he was, it was his never beatenperformances which again secured Max Fitzroys most prestigious senior mens award this year.

Runner up was midfielder Ted Clayton who has had a breakout season and Tom ODonnell was given the coachs award in his first season with the club, impressing all with his care, empathy and involvement with the whole playing group right from day one. His on-field work was meticulous also, selected alongside Max in the VAFA Big V team.

18-year-old Donovan Toohey was presented the Reds Foundation Trophy for best first year player and Sam Baker took out the Marsden - Moriarty Superboot Trophy as the leading senior mens goal kicker.

Earning herself the nickname Everywhereduring the season, Erin led the possession stats in the first half of the season and was a real driving force for the Fitzroy-ACU side, which this year finished out of finals contention in fifth place. She was also selected in the Big V squad. Coach Mick Symons predicted big things could be ahead for Erin in the VFLW or even AFLW.

As with all best and fairest nights, it gives the club the opportunity to reflect on some fantastic stories for individuals throughout the year, and one of those was Lucy Kerr (affectionately known as LJ), who played her first real season of football and was runner-up in the senior womens best and fairest. She also earnt a call up to the Big V squad during the year and was tagged in a number of games as a testament to her on field influence. The Senior Womens coachs award went to vice captain Jess LennyHayes, for a combination of her work in the backline and her off field help and support of the team, coach and club.

For the two other sides who made grand finals for Fitzroy this year, the Reserves Mens best and fairest, the Marc Marsden Perpetual Trophy, went to Mitch Bottomley and the Womens Reserves best and fairest, the Janet Graham Perpetual Trophy, was awarded to Susie Worthington.

Miles Nelson, who is not yet 18, took top honours for the Under 19s and Gizzy Mills, also in his first season with the club, was the winner of the Thirds best and fairest in a great season for the team which made the preliminary final. Both players are likely to have chances for senior selection next year. Thirds captain Tim de Natris finished as runner up in the best and fairest for the second season in a row.

Congratulations to all our Redlow award winners.

Full awards list:

  • Greg Roughsedge Perpetual Trophy for best and fairest in the Senior Mens team Max Ellis
  • Runner up Ted Clayton
  • Reds Foundation Best First Year player award Donovan Toohey
  • Marsden - Moriarty Superboot Trophy as Fitzroys leading goal kicker Sam Baker
  • The SeniorsCoachs award Tom ODonnell
  • Elaine Findlay Perpetual Trophy for best and fairest in the Senior Womens team Erin Gogerly
  • Runner up Lucy Kerr
  • Coachs award Jess Hayes
  • Marc Marsden Perpetual Trophy for best and fairest in the Reserves Mens team Mitch Bottomley
  • Reserves runner up Sean Laidlaw
  • Reserves coachs award Drew Olarenshaw
  • Janet Graham Perpetual Trophy for best and fairest in the Reserves Womens team Susie Worthington
  • Runner up Emily Fitt
  • Coachs award Freya Shearer
  • Stephen Drury Perpetual Trophy for best and fairest in the Under 19 team Miles Nelson
  • Under 19 Runner up Rory Patterson
  • Under 19 Coachs award Max Ellis
  • Tim Madden Perpetual Trophy for the Thirds best and fairest Gizzy Mills
  • Thirds runner up Tim de Natris
  • Thirds Coachs award Hugh Morris Dalton



Get our Newsletter

Are you a Member?